Thursday, July 21, 2016

NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Crown Royal presents the Combat Wounded Coalition at Indy

Track Classification: Superspeedway
Similar Tracks: Daytona International Speedway •  Auto Club Speedway (Fontana) 
Michigan International Speedway • Pocono Raceway • Talladega Superspeedway
Distance: 2.5 Miles

Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
Kyle Busch - 5
Matt Kenseth - 4
All with 3 - Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Tony Stewart and Joey Logano

By Track
Kyle Busch - 4
All with 3 - Denny Hamlin, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Joey Logano and Matt Kenseth

Recent Pole Winners:
2015 Carl Edwards
2014 Kevin Harvick

Last Year's Race Winner: Kyle Busch

The Likely Suspects: This weekend should be interesting as Jeff Gordon comes out of retirement to wheel the No. 88 car for Dale Earnhardt Jr. who is healing from concussion-like symptoms. I am going to focus on drivers who always seem to drive well here, including Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, Joey Logano, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Tony Stewart, Ryan Newman and Kyle Larson.

My 2 Cents: My no-brainer pick this week is Kyle Busch. My next picks are Kevin Harvick, Tony Stewart, Kyle Larson, Kasey Kahne and Ryan Newman. I will complete my team with Jeff Gordon and Chase Elliott.

My Final Four: Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Tony Stewart and Jeff Gordon.

Points to Ponder:
  • Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Indianapolis in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with nine, followed by Joe Gibbs Racing (four) and Richard Childress Racing (three).
  • 14 of the 22 (63.6%) NASCAR Sprint Cup races at Indianapolis have been won from a top-10 starting position.
  • Ryan Newman leads the series among active drivers in average starting position at Indianapolis with a 9.533.
  • Chevrolet leads the series in poles at IMS with 10, followed by Ford with six; Toyota, Dodge and Pontiac each have two.      
  • Jimmie Johnson is the only driver to have posted consecutive wins at Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2008 and 2009).  
  • Jeff Gordon leads the series in top-five finishes at Indianapolis with 12, followed by Tony Stewart and Matt Kenseth with seven each.   
  • Jeff Gordon leads the series in top-10 finishes at Indianapolis with 17, followed by Tony Stewart and Mark Martin with 11 each.
  • Jeff Gordon leads the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series in laps led at Indianapolis with 528 laps led in 22 starts; Jimmie Johnson leads all active drivers with 302 laps led in 14 starts. 
Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter @purplecatpr.