Monday, February 6, 2017

Travel Tips: The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

"Texas Terry" Labonte will be inducted into the
Motorsports Hall of Fame of America in June 2017
credit: Skirts & Scuffs/Debbie Ross
The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America was headquartered in Novi, MI, from 1989 – the year of its first class induction – to 2015, after which it was relocated to the Daytona Beach, FL; on Friday, Feb. 17, 2017, the new venue will hold its official grand opening. Learn more about past inductees and the Hall’s new digs – just in time for Daytona Speedweeks – in this week’s Travel Tips.
  • The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America celebrates all forms of speed – stock car racing, drag racing, open wheel racing, motorcycle racing, power boats, sports car racing and aviation. The Hall’s first induction class in 1989 included such racing royalty as drag racer “Big Daddy” Don Garlits, “Super Tex” A.J. Foyt and “The King” Richard Petty. Past classes have included NASCAR personalities Junior Johnson (1991), Bobby Allison (1992), David Pearson (1993), Ned Jarrett (1997), the Wood Brothers (2000), Dale Earnhardt (2002) and Benny Parsons (2005).
  • The 2017 class, announced at the Rolex 24 at Daytona on Jan. 26, includes open-wheel ace Steve Kinser, two-time Cup Series champ Terry Labonte, sports-car racer Scott Pruett and NASCAR’s first two-time champ, Herb Thomas. The induction ceremony will be held on June 28.
  • The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America’s new venue is located at Daytona International Speedway. While the official grand opening is scheduled for Feb. 17, the Hall has been open to DIS tour visitors since July 2016.
  • Learn more about the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America at its website,
Planning your NASCAR vacation? Check these out, too:


Post a Comment