Thursday, March 23, 2017

NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Auto Club 400

By Carol D'Agostino

Drivers with Most Top 10s :
By Race
Kurt Busch - 4
All with 3- Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kyle Busch, Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Newman, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano  

By Track
Both with 3 - Kurt Busch and Joey Logano
All with 2 - Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kyle Busch, Paul Menard, Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Newman, Kevin Harvick, Jamie McMurray, Brad Keselowski, Matt Kenseth and A.J. Allmendinger

Recent Pole Winners: 
2016 Austin Dillon
2015 Kurt Busch

Last Year's Race Winner: Jimmie Johnson

The Likely Suspects: Auto Club Speedway favors skillful drivers who know how to wrestle a car to Victory Lane. I'm looking at these drivers to run well this weekend: Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Ryan Newman, Joey Logano, Paul Menard and Jamie McMurray.

My 2 Cents:  The track is a bit worn at Auto Club Speedway so think sleepers when picking. My no-brainer pick this week is a tie between the Busch brothers. My next choices are Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Newman, Paul Menard and Jamie McMurray. I will complete my team with Landon Cassill and David Ragan.

My Final Four: Jimmie Johnson, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman and Landon Cassill

Points to Ponder:
  • Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Auto Club Speedway with 10, followed by Roush Fenway Racing with seven. Stewart Haas Racing, Joe Gibbs Racing and Team Penske each have two.
  • Seventeen drivers have won the Coors Light pole at Auto Club Speedway, led by Kurt Busch with four (2015, 2007 and 2006 sweep).
  • Jimmie Johnson leads active drivers in the series in runner-up finishes at Auto Club Speedway with five, followed by Kevin Harvick with three. Johnson has finished second or better in half (11) of his 22 ACS starts.
  • Jimmie Johnson leads active drivers in the series in top-five finishes at Auto Club Speedway with 13, followed by Matt Kenseth (nine) and Kyle Busch (eight).
  • Jimmie Johnson leads active drivers in the series in top-10 finishes with 16, followed by Matt Kenseth with 15.
  • Jimmie Johnson leads the series in average finishing position at ACS with a 6.500, and is the only active driver with more than one start with an average finish inside the top 10 at Auto Club Speedway.  
  • Denny Hamlin (2012, 2013), Kurt Busch (2006 sweep) and Jamie McMurray (2010 sweep) are the only three drivers to win consecutive poles at Auto Club Speedway.
  • Jimmie Johnson (2009-2010) and Kyle Busch (2013-2014) are the only two drivers to win consecutive MENCS races at Auto Club Speedway.
Remember if you are playing Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, your pick deadline is Friday, March 24 at 5 a.m. EDT.

Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter at @purplecatpr