NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte

By Carol D'Agostino

Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
Kevin Harvick - 5
All with 4 - Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin and Brad Keselowski
All with 3 - Ryan Newman, Martin Truex Jr. and Kurt Busch 

By Track
Kevin Harvick - 7
All with 6 - Ryan Newman, Denny Hamlin and Brad Keselowski
Both with 5 - Matt Kenseth and Kurt Busch
All with 4 -Martin Truex Jr., Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne and Kyle Busch

Recent Pole Winners:  
2016 Martin Truex Jr.
2015 Matt Kenseth

2015 Race Winner:  Martin Truex Jr.

Likely Suspects: This race is all about endurance and grit. I will be looking to these drivers this weekend: Martin Truex Jr., Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski, Kurt Busch and Ryan Newman.  

My 2 Cents: This week's no-brainer pick is Martin Truex Jr. My next picks are Joey Logano, Kasey Kahne, Kurt Busch, Austin Dillon and Ryan Newman. I will complete my team with Matt DiBenedetto and Daniel Suarez.

My Final Four: Martin Truex Jr., Kasey Kahne, Ryan Newman and Ty Dillon.

Points to Ponder:
  • The second-place starting position is the most proficient starting spot in the field, producing more winners (17) than any other starting position at Charlotte Motor Speedway. 
  • Nine drivers have posted consecutive wins at CMS. Jimmie Johnson leads active drivers for consecutive wins with four in a row (2004 and 2005 sweeps).
  • Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Charlotte in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series with 19. Among Hendrick active drivers Jimmie Johnson has eight and Kasey Kahne has one. 
  • Eight different manufacturers have won in the MENCS at Charlotte, led by Chevrolet with 44 victories.
  • 88 of the 116 (75.9%) Monster Energy NASCAR Cup races at Charlotte have been won from a top-10 starting position.
  • 45 series drivers have earned Coors Light poles at Charlotte. Ryan Newman leads all active drivers in poles at CMS with nine, followed by Jimmie Johnson with four.
  • 13 drivers have won consecutive Coors Light poles at Charlotte. Matt Kenseth is the most recent driver to accomplish the feat with a 2015 sweep.
  • 49 different drivers have won at Charlotte Motor Speedway, led by Jimmie Johnson with eight wins – 2003 summer, 2004 sweep, 2005 sweep, 2009 playoffs, 2014 summer, 2016 playoffs. 
Remember, if you're playing Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, your pick deadline is Thursday, May 25th at 5 a.m. EDT.

Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter @purplecatpr.
NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Reviewed by Carol D'Agostino on Wednesday, May 24, 2017 Rating: 5