NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Go Bowling 400 at Kansas

By Carol D'Agostino

Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
Matt Kenseth - 5
Both with 4 - Kevin Harvick and Jimmie Johnson
All with 3 -  Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kasey Kahne, Brad Keselowski and Martin Truex Jr.  

By Track
Both with 6 - Jimmie Johnson and Joey Logano
Both with 5 - Kevin Harvick and Matt Kenseth
All with 4 - Kasey Kahne, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch and Brad Keselowski

Recent Pole Winners:  
2016 Martin Truex Jr.
2015 Joey Logano

Last Year's Race Winner: Kyle Busch

The Likely Suspects: I'm happy to say that Talladega didn't beat up my fantasy team as much as it could have. I can thank Ricky Stenhouse Jr. for that as well as 13 points in qualifying and some extra laps led points from another driver who did crash out. That being said, I am anxious to gain some all important bonus points this week. I will focus on these drivers to help me reach my objectives: Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Martin Truex Jr, Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano and Kyle Busch.

My 2 Cents: For the second consecutive year, my Kansas my no-brainer pick this week is a tie between Jimmie Johnson and Kevin Harvick. My next picks are Kasey Kahne, Kyle Larson, Kurt Busch and Chase Elliott. My final picks are Ty Dillon and Matt DiBenedetto. When doing final picks this week focus on any drivers in the top five starting positions.

My Final Four: Kevin Harvick, Kasey Kahne, Kurt Busch and Ty Dillon.

Points to ponder:
  • Thirteen different drivers have won at Kansas Speedway. Eight of the 13 Kansas winners are currently active, led by Jimmie Johnson with three.
  • Matt Kenseth is the only active Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver who has posted consecutive wins at Kansas Speedway: Fall 2012, Spring 2013. 
  • Fourteen drivers have earned Coors Light poles at Kansas, led by Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth and Kasey Kahne with three each. 
  • Jimmie Johnson and Kevin Harvick are the only two drivers to win consecutive Coors Light poles at Kansas Speedway (Johnson: 2007-2008 and Harvick: Fall of 2013-2014 sweep).
  • Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Kansas with six: Jeff Gordon (three: 2001, 2002 and 2014) and Jimmie Johnson (three: 2008, 2011 and 2015).
  • Four manufacturers have won at Kansas Speedway in the MENCS, led by Chevrolet with 11 victories, Ford with six, Toyota has three and Dodge has two. 
  • Kevin Harvick has the series most runner-up finishes at Kansas Speedway with three. Rounding out the active drivers in this category are Kasey Kahne, Martin Truex Jr. and Ryan Newman with two each.   
  • Jimmie Johnson leads active drivers in top-five finishes at Kansas Speedway with nine, followed by Matt Kenseth with seven.
  • Jimmie Johnson leads the series in top-10 finishes at Kansas Speedway with 17. Rounding out the active drivers in this category is Matt Kenseth with 13.
  • Jimmie Johnson (8.905) is the only active Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series driver with more than one start at Kansas Speedway with an average finishing position inside the top 10.
Remember, if you're playing Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, your pick deadline is Friday, May 12th at 5 a.m. EDT.

Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter @purplecatpr.
NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Go Bowling 400 at Kansas NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Go Bowling 400 at Kansas Reviewed by Carol D'Agostino on Thursday, May 11, 2017 Rating: 5