NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Brickyard 400

By Carol D'Agostino

Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
Kyle Busch - 5
All with 4 - Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth and Joey Logano
All with 3 - Kyle Larson, Jimmie Johnson, Kevin Harvick, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Martin Truex Jr.

By Track
All with 4 - Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth and Joey Logano
All with 3 - Kyle Larson. Denny Hamlin and Kevin Harvick

Recent Pole Winners:
2016 Kyle Busch
2015 Carl Edwards

Last Year's Race Winner: Kyle Busch

The Likely Suspects: It's best not to overthink Indy. Stick with the drivers that consistently perform well, and you should rack up the points. My Indy elites include Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin,  Joey Logano, Kevin Harvick, Martin Truex Jr., Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Newman, Kyle Larson and Paul Menard.

My 2 Cents: My no-brainer pick this week is a tie between Kyle Busch and Kyle Larson. My next picks are Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Clint Bowyer and Ryan Newman. I will complete my team with Landon Cassill and Michael McDowell.

My Final Four: Kyle Busch, Kyle Larson, Ryan Newman and Landon Cassill.

Points to Ponder:
  • Hendrick Motorsports leads the series in wins at Indianapolis in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series with nine, followed by Joe Gibbs Racing (five) and Richard Childress Racing (three).
  • Four different manufacturers have won at Indianapolis, led by Chevrolet with 16 victories, followed by Ford (three), Toyota (two), Dodge and Pontiac each have one. Chevrolet won 12 straight races from 2003-2014.
  • Jimmie Johnson leads all active series drivers in wins with four.
  • Jimmie Johnson (2008-09) and Kyle Busch (2015-16) are the only two drivers that have posted consecutive MENCS wins at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 
  • 19 drivers have won Coors Light poles at Indianapolis. Among active drivers, Kevin Harvick has the most poles with two.
  • The Coors Light pole is the most proficient starting position in the field, producing four winners -- more than any other starting position at Indianapolis.   
  • Six of the 23 (26.1%) Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series races at Indianapolis have been won from the front row: four from the pole and two from second place.
  • 15 of the 23 (65.2%) MENCS races at Indianapolis have been won from a top-10 starting position.
  • Matt Kenseth leads all active drivers in top-five finishes at IMS with eight and in top-10 finishes with 11.
  • Kyle Busch leads the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in average finishing position at Indianapolis with a 9.000.  
  • Among active drivers, Matt Kenseth leads the series in runner-up finishes at Indianapolis with three, followed by Kyle Busch with two.  
Remember, if you're playing Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, your pick deadline is Friday, July 22nd at 5 a.m. EDT.

Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter @purplecatpr.
NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Brickyard 400 NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Brickyard 400 Reviewed by Carol D'Agostino on Thursday, July 20, 2017 Rating: 5