Thursday, July 13, 2017

NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Overton’s 301 at New Hampshire

By Carol D'Agostino

Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
All with 4 - Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth and Kevin Harvick
All with 3 - Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano

By Track
All with 7 - Brad Keselowski, Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch and Jimmie Johnson
Kevin Harvick - 6
All with 5 - Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin and Joey Logano   

Recent Pole Winners:  
2016 Jimmie Johnson
2015 Carl Edwards
2014 Kyle Busch

Last Year's Race Winner: Matt Kenseth
The Likely Suspects: New Hampshire Motor Speedway gives the flat track masters a chance to show the other drivers how its done. Look for these drivers to run well this weekend: Kyle Busch, Matt Kenseth, Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin and Jimmie Johnson.

My 2 Cents: When making final picks this week, remember to cross check against performances at Phoenix International Raceway, which is basically New Hampshire's twin. My no-brainer pick this week is a tie between Kyle Busch and Matt Kenseth. Brad Keselowski is also a fine pick. If one of these three elite drivers earns the pole position, make him your final pick since the pole position is golden. My next picks are Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, Kyle Larson and Clint Bowyer. I will complete my team with Ty Dillon and Michael McDowell.

My Final Four: Matt Kenseth, Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman and Ty Dillon.

Points to Ponder:
  • Hendrick Motorsports and Joe Gibbs Racing lead the series in wins at New Hampshire in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series with nine each, followed by Roush Fenway Racing (seven), Team Penske (six), and Richard Childress Racing (four).
  • The Coors Light pole is the most proficient starting position in the field, producing more winners (five) than any other starting spot at New Hampshire. 
  • Twenty different Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers have won Coors Light poles at New Hampshire, led by Ryan Newman with seven. 
  • Three drivers have posted consecutive wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway: Jimmie Johnson (2003 sweep), Kurt Busch (2004 sweep) and Matt Kenseth (2015 fall, 2016 spring).  
  • 23 different MENCS drivers have finished second at NHMS. Tony Stewart leads the series in runner-up finishes with six, followed by Jeff Gordon (five), Denny Hamlin (four), Kyle Busch and Mark Martin (with three each).  
  • 78 different MENCS drivers have finished inside the top 10 at NHMS. Jeff Gordon leads the series in top-10 finishes with 24, followed by Jimmie Johnson with 20.
  • 54 different MENCS drivers have finished inside the top five at NHMS. Jeff Gordon leads the series in top-five finishes at New Hampshire with 16, followed by Tony Stewart with 15, and Jimmie Johnson and Matt Kenseth each have 10.   
  • Jimmie Johnson leads Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in average finishing position at New Hampshire with a 10.267. 
Remember, if you're playing Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, your pick deadline is Friday, July 14th at 5 a.m. EDT.

Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter @purplecatpr.


Post a Comment