Thursday, August 17, 2017

NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race at Bristol

By Carol D'Agostino
Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
Joey Logano -5
Jimmie Johnson - 4
Both with 3 - Denny Hamlin and Paul Menard

By Track
Joey Logano - 6
Both with 5 - Jimmie Johnson and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
All with 4 - Clint Bowyer, Ryan Newman, Kevin Harvick, Denny Hamlin, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and
Matt Kenseth

Recent Pole Winners: 
2016 Carl Edwards
2015 Denny Hamlin
2014 Kevin Harvick

Last Year's Race Winner: Kevin Harvick

The Likely Suspects: This weekend race fans will be treated to a night race at Bristol. Look for these drivers to run well: Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano, Jimmie Johnson, Paul Menard and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

My 2 Cents: My no-brainer pick is Denny Hamlin. My next choices are Kevin Harvick, Paul Menard, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Chase Elliott and Chris Buescher. I will complete my team with Erik Jones and Ty Dillon.

My Final Four: Kevin Harvick, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Chris Buescher and Ty Dillon.

Points to Ponder:
  • 89 of the 113 (78.7%) MENCS races at Bristol Motor Speedway (BMS) have been won from a top-10 starting position.
  • 12 different drivers have posted consecutive poles at Bristol Motor Speedway. Denny Hamlin is the only active driver to have done so (fall 2013, spring 2014).
  • Roger Penske leads the series among active car owners with the most wins at Bristol with 12; followed by Jack Roush and Rick Hendrick with 11 each.
  • Denny Hamlin and Ryan Newman lead all active drivers in Coors Light poles at BMS with three each.
  • Kevin Harvick leads all active drivers in the series in runner-up finishes at Bristol with five; followed by Kyle Busch with three. Harvick also leads all active drivers in the series in top-three finishes at Bristol with nine. 
  • Matt Kenseth leads all active drivers in the series in top-five finishes at Bristol with 14; followed by Kevin Harvick with 12. Kenseth also leads all active drivers in the series in top-10 finishes at Bristol with 21; followed by Jimmie Johnson (18).
Remember, if you're playing Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, your pick deadline is Friday, Aug. 18, at 5 a.m. EDT.

Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter at @purplecatpr.


Post a Comment