Thursday, November 2, 2017

NASCAR Fantasy Fusion: AAA Texas 500

By Carol D'Agostino

Drivers with Most Top 10s (Last 5 Years):
By Race
Kevin Harvick - 5
All with 4 - Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch
All with 3 - Matt Kenseth, Kurt Busch and Denny Hamlin

By Track 
All with 7 - Jimmie Johnson, Joey Logano and Kevin Harvick
All with 6 - Kyle Busch, Brad Keselowski, Martin Truex Jr. and Dale Earnhardt Jr.
All with 4 - Jamie McMurray, Kasey Kahne and Kurt Busch

Recent Pole Winners: 
2016 Austin Dillon
2015 Brad Keselowski

Last Year's Race Winner: Carl Edwards

The Likely Suspects: I have a specific selection of go-to drivers for Texas races. However, this year the young guns have me thinking twice about it. Look for these drivers to run well this weekend: Brad Keselowski, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Joey Logano, Martin Truex Jr. and Matt Kenseth.

My 2 Cents: Will the real Jimmie Johnson please return to the No. 48 team? If it doesn't happen this week, the seven time champion can kiss his chances of being an 8-timer this year goodbye.

My no-brainer pick this week is Jimmie Johnson. My next picks are: Matt Kenseth, Chase Elliott, Ryan Blaney, Kasey Kahne and Ryan Newman. I will round out my team with David Ragan and Ty Dillon.   

My Final Four: Jimmie Johnson, Chase Elliott, Ryan Newman and Ty Dillon.

Points to Ponder:
  • Eleven drivers have won a pole for the 12 Playoff races at Texas, led by Jeff Gordon with two; followed by active drivers Austin Dillon, Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson, Martin Truex Jr., Matt Kenseth and Ryan Newman with one each.
  • The Coors Light pole at Texas has 24 different winners. Among active drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr., Ryan Newman and Martin Truex Jr. won two poles each.
  • Five different drivers have won the Texas Playoff races, led by Jimmie Johnson with five victories (2007, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015). 
  • Roush Fenway Racing and Hendrick Motorsports lead the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series in wins at Texas Motor Speedway with nine each, followed by Joe Gibbs Racing with six.  
  • The third-place starting position is the most proficient starting spot in the field at Texas Motor Speedway, producing more wins than any other starting position (six) – most recent: Jimmie Johnson (fall of 2014). 
  • A total of 18 different MENCS drivers have won at Texas Motor Speedway, led by Jimmie Johnson with seven victories (2007, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 sweep and 2017).
  • Eight drivers have multiple wins at Texas Motor Speedway. Among active drivers are  Jimmie Johnson (seven), and Denny Hamlin, Matt Kenseth and Kyle Busch each have two.
  • Three Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers have posted consecutive wins at Texas Motor Speedway. Among actuve drivers are Jimmie Johnson (2014 playoff race and 2015 sweep) and Denny Hamlin (2010 sweep). 
  • Three quarters (25 of the 33) MENCS races at TMS have been won from a top-10 starting position. 
  • Jimmie Johnson leads the series in runner-up finishes at Texas Motor Speedway with five, followed by Matt Kenseth with four. 
  • Jimmie Johnson leads the series in top-five finishes at Texas Motor Speedway with 15, followed by Matt Kenseth (13) and Kyle Busch with 11. 
  • Jimmie Johnson leads the series in top-10 finishes at TMS with 21, followed by Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (18 each).
  • Chase Elliott (three starts) leads the series in average finish at Texas with a 6.0. 
  • Jimmie Johnson leads the MENCS in laps led at Texas Motor Speedway with 1,041 laps led in 28 starts.
Remember, if you're playing Yahoo! Fantasy Auto Racing, your pick deadline is Friday, November 3, at 5 a.m. EDT.

Enjoy the race! Post your comments here or follow me on Twitter at @purplecatpr.


Post a Comment