Trackin’ Trucks: Brett Moffitt wins at Homestead and claims 2018 NCWTS title

Brett Moffitt celebrates with his team in Victory Lane at Homestead
Credit: Chris Graythen

by Courtney Horn

The underdogs of the 2018 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series became champions on Friday night at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Brett Moffitt became the series champ after a dominant performance during the Ford EcoBoost 200, leading 59 of 134 laps. Moffitt’s win at the 1.5-mile track is his sixth of the season.

“Those were longest 12 laps of my life,” Moffitt said about the final leg of the race.

The championship is the first for the 26-year-old and for his underfunded Hattori Racing Enterprises team. Moffitt and his No. 16 Toyota were hounded with sponsorship woes throughout the season, fearing they wouldn’t make it to several of the tracks on the series schedule despite winning multiple times.

“I have a lot of friends, family here, and just the effort that HRE put in all year and (crew chief) Scott (Zipadelli) and these guys, when we didn't even know if we were going to make it to the track,” Moffitt said. “I don't think everyone understands when we say we have nine or 10 full-time employees, that the last three to five weeks they've been working seven days a week and working until midnight if need be. More times than not they were doing that.”

Zipadelli reiterated Moffitt’s statement.

“It’s kind of amazing really, and it feels good,” Zipadelli said. “Going into this race, everyone asks 'Are you nervous?' Nope. We’re not even supposed to be here. We exceeded all the expectations of our peers and competitors.”

Credit: Debbie Ross for Skirts and Scuffs

And they did.

Their six wins were only matched by 2016 NCWTS champion Johnny Sauter, who finished in the 12th position.

“We are such a small team,” Team owner Shigeaki Hattori said. "But everybody did a great job, and I'm so, so happy for all the team and the team members and all the team families. Thank you.”

Moffitt won the race by two seconds over Grant Enfinger. He lead the final 28 laps in an event that only saw two cautions for end-of-stage breaks.

Noah Gragson finished third after suffering a cut tire with less than 40 laps to go. He battled back, but it was not enough for the Kyle Busch Motorsports driver to contend for the championship.

Myatt Snider earned the Rookie of the Year honors after finishing 14th.

The final 2018 NCWTS standings for the championship 4:
Champion: Brett Moffitt
Second: Noah Gragson
Third: Justin Haley
Fourth: Johnny Sauter

Trackin’ Trucks: Brett Moffitt wins at Homestead and claims 2018 NCWTS title Trackin’ Trucks: Brett Moffitt wins at Homestead and claims 2018 NCWTS title Reviewed by Anonymous on Saturday, November 17, 2018 Rating: 5