Trackin’ Trucks: John Hunter Nemechek Wins at Kansas

Credit: Debbie Ross for Skirts and Scuffs 

John Hunter Nemechek earned his second victory of the 2022 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season on Friday night at Kansas Speedway 

Nemechek led five separate times for a total of 88 laps. He passed Carson Hocevar on the last lap of the Kansas Lottery 200, winning by almost two seconds after Hocevar ran out of fuel. 

“It’s huge,” Nemechek said of the victory, which is the 13th of his career. “I just want to say thank you to everyone at Kyle Busch Motorsports. I can’t thank them enough for the truck they gave me tonight. It was absolutely unreal."

Hocevar last pitted on Lap 80, while Nemechek pitted on Lap 103 and overcame a 20-second deficit to pass the No. 42 Chevrolet as Hocevar began to fall off the pace. 

“Into (Turn) 3 coming to the white flag, I started to sputter, and I knew it was game over,” Hocevar said. “The 19 (Derek Kraus) had an issue, and I lost three seconds there. Looking back, I wish I could have gotten those back. Phil Gould made a hell of a call. I didn’t see it. Fifty-six laps to go, there’s going to be a yellow, right? Cutoff race, and it’s the Truck Series of all things… How was I to know the 19 was going to have a flat (tire) right in front of me?

“We deserved to win that race, just on strategy. We were nowhere near the best car. Seems like I always run second to him (Nemechek), but they were the class of the field all night. We got beat. We had the winning strategy. It just didn’t work out…

“I think I’ll be the bridesmaid at my own wedding.”

Hocevar, who failed to advance to the next round of the Playoffs, coasted to the checkered for second. Ryan Preece finished third, followed by Zane Smith and Grant Enfinger. 

Chandler Smith finished sixth, while Corey Heim, Ty Majeski, Colby Howard, and Christian Eckes finished seventh through 10th place, respectively. 

A Look Ahead

The second round of the Camping World Truck Series Playoffs begins next Thursday, Sept. 15 at Bristol Motor Speedway. 

Advancing to the Round of 8 are: Nemechek, Enfinger, Chandler Smith, Zane Smith, Majeski, Stewart Friesen, defending series champion Ben Rhodes and Eckes. 

Matt Crafton has been eliminated alongside Hocevar. 

Don’t miss the CWTS at Bristol on Thursday, Sept. 15 at 9 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1. 


Trackin’ Trucks: John Hunter Nemechek Wins at Kansas  Trackin’ Trucks: John Hunter Nemechek Wins at Kansas Reviewed by Courtney Horn on Sunday, September 11, 2022 Rating: 5