Double your pleasure: Harvick on pole for Cup and Truck races after qualifying washed out

The rain at Martinsville Speedway wouldn't go away Friday. And it worked to Kevin Harvick's advantage not once, but twice.

For the first time in his career, Harvick won two poles in a single race weekend after qualifying was rained out for Saturday's Camping World Truck Series race, the Kroger 250, and Sunday's Sprint Cup race, the Goody's Fast Pain Relief 500.

Because of the inclement weather, both series relied on the rulebook to determine their respective starting lineups. The Sprint Cup field was based on 2010 owner points, while the field for the Truck Series was primarily set by the 2009 owner standings.

Martinsville marks the first time this season that qualifying was canceled in either the Sprint Cup or Truck Series.


Harvick currently sits atop the points ladder in the Sprint Cup Series, leading Matt Kenseth by one point. Kenseth has the outside pole for Sunday's race.

Harvick was 16th fastest in Friday's earlier practice session, with a lap of 96.347 mph and 19.654 seconds. Kenseth was 25th fastest. The two will have another opportunity to adjust their cars in a pair of practice sessions Saturday at 10:30 and 11:30 a.m. ET.

The Goody's Fast Pain Relief 500 will be broadcast Sunday at 1 p.m. ET on FOX. Green flag is scheduled for 1:13 p.m. ET.

Starting lineup for the Goody's Fast Pain Relief 500:
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Matt Kenseth
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. Greg Biffle
5. Tony Stewart
6. Kurt Busch
7. Jeff Burton
8. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
9. Paul Menard
10. Kyle Busch
11. Jeff Gordon
12. Clint Bowyer
13. Carl Edwards
14. Brian Vickers
15. Jamie McMurray
16. Mark Martin
17. Joey Logano
18. Scott Speed
19. Denny Hamlin
20. Martin Truex Jr.
21. A.J. Allmendinger
22. Juan Montoya
23. Kasey Kahne
24. David Reutimann
25. Elliott Sadler
26. Ryan Newman
27. David Ragan
28. Regan Smith
29. Bobby Labonte
30. Brad Keselowski
31. Marcos Ambrose
32. Kevin Conway*
33. Sam Hornish Jr.
34. Travis Kvapil
35. David Gilliland
36. David Stremme
37. Aric Almirola
38. Robby Gordon
39. Mike Bliss
40. Max Papis
41. Michael McDowell
42. Dave Blaney
43. Joe Nemechek


Did Not Qualify:
Casey Mears, Terry Cook* and Johnny Sauter


Harvick's No. 2 truck is leading the owner standings, using last year's points from the No. 33 of defending series champion Ron Hornaday.

The No. 2 and the No. 33 swapped points prior to the season, assuring the No. 2 of making the field for the first few races. For Saturday's event, Hornaday is using a past champions' provisional.

Aric Almirola, driving for Billy Ballew Motorsports, will be on the outside pole.

The top 30 entries from the 2009 owner standings made the field, with the last five spots determined by 2010 owner points.

Saturday's Truck Series race, the Kroger 250, will be broadcast at 2 p.m. ET in SPEED. Green flag is set to wave at 2:16 p.m. ET.

Starting lineup for the Kroger 250:
1. Kevin Harvick
2. Aric Almirola
3. Matt Crafton
4. Mike Skinner
5. Timothy Peters
6. Todd Bodine
7. Johnny Sauter
8. Tayler Malsam
9. Johnny Benson
10. Rick Crawford
11. Narain Karthikeyan
12. Ricky Carmichael
13. David Starr
14. Jennifer Jo Cobb
15. Tony Jackson Jr.
16. Justin Lofton*
17. Jason White
18. Norm Benning
19. Austin Dillon*
20. Brett Butler*
21. Hermie Sadler
22. Chris Eggleston
23. Mario Gosselin
24. Brent Raymer
25. Ryan Sieg
26. Max Papis
27. Shane Sieg
28. Brian Johnson Jr.
29. Ken Schrader
30. Chris Lafferty
31. Ron Hornaday
32. Brian Ickler
33. Clay Greenfield
34. Lance Fenton
35. D.J. Kennington
36. Mike Harmon


Did Not Qualify:
Dennis Setzer, Paddy Rodenbeck and Dale Brackett
Double your pleasure: Harvick on pole for Cup and Truck races after qualifying washed out Double your pleasure: Harvick on pole for Cup and Truck races after qualifying washed out Reviewed by Admin on Friday, March 26, 2010 Rating: 5