Most Popular Driver votes reach 1 million

Fans have 2 weeks to get their driver into Top 10

Minneapolis, Minn. (August 27, 2010) - The race to the NASCAR Chase is on and so is the chase for its favorite driver - and that effort has reached a major milestone. Fans have now cast more than 1 million votes for the NASCAR® National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) Hamburger Helper® Most Popular Driver Award at

Fans only have two more weeks of voting before the competition is narrowed to the top-10 vote-getters, coinciding with when the drivers in the Chase for the Sprint Cup will be determined. The votes will be reset on Sept. 12 and the 10 driver finalists will then begin a new race to the finish.

The current top 10, in alphabetical order, are Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte and Tony Stewart.  

Race fans have been able to vote online for their favorite NASCAR® Sprint Cup driver once a day since the racing season began in February. Voting for the full field of 41 eligible drivers will end on Sept. 11 at 11:59 p.m. CT, following the race event at Richmond International Raceway. The 10 drivers with the most votes will be announced as finalists and the vote count will reset to zero.

Fans will then have 10 race weeks to cast their vote once a day to determine the 2010 NASCAR® NMPA Hamburger Helper Most Popular Driver winner from the final field of 10 drivers. Voting will conclude Nov. 22 at 11:59 p.m. CT and the winner will be announced at the NASCAR® NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon in December in Las Vegas.

"It's been a lot of fun for Hamburger Helper to get involved with the Most Popular Driver award this year," said Jeff Fuller, marketing manager for Hamburger Helper. "It's pretty impressive to know that fans have come to our voting page a million times to vote for their favorite driver. It will be interesting to see who makes it into the top 10 or if there will be any drivers from the outside pushing their fans to vote them in."

Last season, Earnhardt Jr. earned his seventh consecutive Most Popular Driver Award. Only Earnhardt Jr. and Bill Elliott have won the award seven consecutive times since its inception in 1953.

For more information and to vote on the NASCAR® NMPA Hamburger Helper Most Popular Driver Award, visit

Release courtesy of Helpers Most Popular Driver website
Most Popular Driver votes reach 1 million Most Popular Driver votes reach 1 million Reviewed by Admin on Saturday, August 28, 2010 Rating: 5