Toyota Takes Third Nationwide Series Title (Manufacturers Championship)

2010 Kansas Oct NNS Joey Logano victory burnout KANSAS CITY, Kan. (October 2, 2010) — When Joey Logano’s Camry crossed the finish line first in Saturday’s NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) race at Kansas Speedway, it enabled Toyota to clinch its third consecutive NNS manufacturer’s championship in just its fourth year of series competition.

This marks the seventh time that Toyota has earned a NASCAR manufacturer’s title since its NASCAR debut in 2004. Last year, Toyota captured its second straight NNS title, and in each of the past four years (2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009) Toyota has won the manufacturer’s championship in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS).

The performance of five full-time teams fielding 10 Camrys — Braun Racing, Diamond- Waltrip Racing, Germain Racing, Joe Gibbs Racing (JGR) and Rusty Wallace Racing — all contributed to the 2010 title earning Toyota the Bill France Performance Cup. Camry Nationwide Series drivers have combined to produce 15 victories, 62 top-five finishes, 123 top- 10 results and 15 pole positions in the first 29 events of the 2010 season.

“Toyota’s accomplishments in the NASCAR Nationwide Series are the result of countless hours of hard work and dedication by all of our race teams and engine builders working in conjunction with TRD, U.S.A. (Toyota Racing Development),” said Lee White, TRD’s president and general manager. “All the race team members and everyone at TRD spent countless hours in producing the new Nationwide Series car for this year along with maintaining the superior performance of our existing cars. To earn a third consecutive manufacturer’s championship in this competitive series is a testament to the teams, sponsors, drivers and team members that are a part of the Toyota Nationwide program.”

This year, JGR drivers Kyle Busch (11 wins) in the No. 18 Toyota Camry, and Denny Hamlin (one win) and Joey Logano (two wins) in the No. 20 Toyota Camry, have combined to win 14 NNS races.

Along with JGR’s 14 NNS wins this season, JTG-Daugherty Racing earned a triumph in August with Marcos Ambrose behind the steering wheel at New York’s Watkins Glen International road course.

“It is an honor to be such a big part of Toyota’s third manufacturer’s title in the Nationwide Series,” said Busch. “Joe Gibbs Racing and Toyota have formed a great relationship and it shows through the success of our Nationwide Series program in this record-breaking season.”

A total of 33 different drivers have participated in the Nationwide Series in a Camry this year, including Jason Leffler — who has started every Nationwide Series race since Toyota entered the series in 2007 (134 races). Since joining the Nationwide Series in 2007, Camry drivers have won 52 races and captured 46 pole positions.

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. Toyota Motor Sales (TMS), U.S.A., Inc. is the marketing, sales, distribution and customer service arm of Toyota, Lexus and Scion. Established in 1957, TMS markets products and services through a network of more than 1,400 Toyota, Lexus and Scion dealers. Toyota directly employs more than 34,000 people in the U.S. and sold more than 1.77 million vehicles in 2009. For more information about Toyota, visit,, or

TRD, U.S.A. (Toyota Racing Development) Powering all of Toyota’s American racing programs is TRD, U.S.A. (Toyota Racing Development) in Costa Mesa, Calif., and Salisbury, N.C. A subsidiary of Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc., TRD serves as the North American racing arm for design, development and assembly of Toyota’s factory racing engines.

This is Toyota’s fourth season in the NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS).
Toyota clinched its third consecutive NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) manufacturer’s championship Saturday at Kansas Speedway when Joey Logano’s Camry crossed the finish line first.
In 2010, five teams fielded 10 full-time Camrys in NNS competition. Camry NNS teams included Braun Racing (Nos. 10, 11, 32 and 38), Diamond-Waltrip Racing (No. 99), Germain Racing (No. 15), Joe Gibbs Racing (Nos. 18 and 20) and Rusty Wallace Racing (Nos. 62 and 66).

Since the start of this season, Camry drivers have earned 62 top-five results and 123 top-10 finishes.
Four Camry drivers – Michael Annett, Brendan Gaughan, Jason Leffler and Steve Wallace — have participated in all 29 NNS races in Toyotas this season. Drivers Trevor Bayne and Brian Scott have competed in 28 NNS races driving Camrys.
Wins (15) Kyle Busch (11): California, Phoenix, Texas, Dover, Charlotte, Loudon, Chicagoland, ORP, Iowa, Bristol-2 and Dover-2 Joey Logano (2): Kentucky and Kansas Marcos Ambrose (1): Watkins Glen Denny Hamlin (1): Darlington
Poles (15) Joey Logano (6): California, Nashville, Texas, Kentucky, Dover-2 and Kansas Trevor Bayne (3): St. Louis, ORP and Iowa Marcos Ambrose (2): Watkins Glen and Montreal Kyle Busch (2): Richmond and Dover Denny Hamlin (1): Darlington Kasey Kahne (1): Atlanta

Wins (52) Kyle Busch (30) Joey Logano (8) Denny Hamlin (5) Tony Stewart (5) Marcos Ambrose (2) Jason Leffler (1) David Reutimann (1)
Poles (46) Joey Logano (13) Kyle Busch (9) Trevor Bayne (4) Denny Hamlin (4) Marcos Ambrose (3) Brian Vickers (3) Jason Leffler (2) David Reutimann (2) Tony Stewart (2) Dave Blaney (1) James Buescher (1) Kasey Kahne (1) Scott Speed (1)
Toyota Takes Third Nationwide Series Title (Manufacturers Championship) Toyota Takes Third Nationwide Series Title (Manufacturers Championship) Reviewed by Admin on Sunday, October 03, 2010 Rating: 5