Johnny Sauter Wins NCWTS Kroger 250 at Martinsville

Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR

Johnny Sauter started from the pole position and pulled off an amazing pass on Kyle Busch with only two laps to go to win Saturday's Kroger 250 at Martinsville Speedway. Sauter claimed his third win in the NCWTS and first ever win at Martinsville and is now leading the points in the Truck Series.

Sauter led the first 47 laps until Kyle Busch took the lead, but only for three laps. Sauter regained the lead for another 22 laps. He had a dominant truck; the only other team in comparison was Kyle Busch, who led three separate times for a total of 64 laps versus Sauter leading three times for a total of 71 laps.

The race was full of cautions and one red flag for a hard wreck with Jeffrey Earnhardt and James Buescher. Both drivers hit the wall hard; Earnhardt's truck did burst into flames, but thankfully both drivers climbed from their trucks uninjured. Chase Mattioli was also the cause of three of the 13 cautions of the day.

Here are the complete results:
  1. Johnny Sauter
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Timothy Peters
  6. Cole Whitt
  7. Austin Dillion
  8. Ricky Carmichael
  9. Brendan Gaughan
  10. Max Papis
  11. Matt Crafton
  12. Miguel Paludo
  13. Parker Kligerman
  14. Todd Bodine
  15. Brad Sweet
  16. Clay Rogers
  17. Joey Coulter
  18. Johanna Long
  19. Caleb Roark
  20. Travis Kvapil
  21. Justin Marks
  22. Jason White
  23. Matt Lofton
  24. Craig Goess Jr.
  25. Dusty Davis
  26. David Starr
  27. Norm Benning
  28. Chase Mattioli
  29. Shane Sieg
  30. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  31. Justin Johnson
  32. Justin Lofton
  33. Ryan Sieg
  34. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  35. James Buescher
Johnny Sauter Wins NCWTS Kroger 250 at Martinsville Johnny Sauter Wins NCWTS Kroger 250 at Martinsville Reviewed by Unknown on Saturday, April 02, 2011 Rating: 5