Kyle Busch dominates Nashville truck race

Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR
Kyle Busch started Friday's Bully Hill Vineyards 200 at Nashville from the pole and led all but 10 of its 150 laps for his second win of the season in the Camping World Truck Series.

Though Busch dominated most of the race, he had to work for the win when four-time series champion Ron Hornaday slipped under Busch to take the lead after a restart with eight laps to go. But the race's final caution gave Busch an opportunity to pull a similar move on Hornaday, passing him with two laps remaining.

"I felt like we had a winning truck obviously, felt like we had the dominant truck actually," Busch said. "There with about 10 to go, the race really got started, and it really got interesting."

Hornaday wore out his tires as he tried to keep up with Busch. The Kevin Harvick Inc. driver lost two more positions before crossing the finish line in fourth place.

Jason Smith/Getty Images for NASCAR
Busch's victory marks the third this year for Kyle Busch Motorsports, as well as his second consecutive win in Nashville's spring truck race. Busch now has three guitar trophies in his collection, including his Nationwide win at the track in 2009.

En route to his 26th Truck Series win, Busch reached another milestone: he led his 20,000th lap across all three of NASCAR's top series.

Second-place finisher Nelson Piquet Jr. achieved a career best in only his 10th series start. The Kevin Harvick Inc. driver, in the running for Rookie of the Year, had a rocky start to the season, finishing outside the top 25 in three out of the first four races.

"We didn't have a good beginning to the season, so this was very important for us, just to stick there and show that we are capable," Piquet said.

Rounding out the top 5 were Timothy Peters, Hornaday and James Buescher.

The complete results of the Bully Vineyards 200 at Nashville:

1. Kyle Busch    
2. Nelson Piquet Jr. *    
3. Timothy Peters    
4. Ron Hornaday    
5. James Buescher
6. Matt Crafton
7. Johnny Sauter
8. David Starr    
9. Craig Goess *    
10. Parker Kligerman *    
11. Austin Dillon    
12. Cole Whitt *
13. Jason White
14. Ricky Carmichael
15. Justin Johnson *
16. Justin Lofton
17. Brendan Gaughan    
18. Elliott Sadler    
19. Todd Bodine
20. Travis Kvapil
21. Ryan Sieg    
22. Bobby Hamilton Jr.    
23. Max Papis    
24. Joey Coulter *
25. Justin Marks
26. Shane Sieg
27. Miguel Paludo *    
28. Brad Sweet    
29. Cale Gale
30. Jamie Dick    
31. Clay Rogers
32. Johanna Long *
33. Chase Mattioli *    
34. Nick Hoffman    
35. Johnny Chapman    
36. Mike Garvey

Kyle Busch dominates Nashville truck race Kyle Busch dominates Nashville truck race Reviewed by Rebecca Kivak on Saturday, April 23, 2011 Rating: 5