Jimmie Johnson, Trevor Bayne nominated for ESPYs

Credit: Ezra Shaw/Getty Images
NASCAR's five-time Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson and Daytona 500 winner Trevor Bayne have been announced as nominees for the 19th annual ESPYs, ESPN's sports performance awards where the majority of the winners are determined by fans' votes.

The winners will be revealed July 13 when the awards ceremony airs live from Los Angeles.

In addition to his five consecutive championships, Johnson has another streak he'd like to continue. The driver of the No. 48 Lowes Chevrolet will try for his fourth straight win as Best Driver at this year's ESPYs. Johnson is also nominated for Best Male Athlete.

The defending Sprint Cup champion claimed the Best Driver award in 2008, 2009 and 2010. This year Johnson is up against three-time IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti, 15-time NHRA Funny Car champion John Force and four-time NHRA Full Throttle champion Greg Anderson.

Johnson is a repeat nominee for Best Male Athlete and faces competition from tennis great Rafael Nadal, Dallas Mavericks forward and 2011 NBA finals MVP Dirk Nowizki, and Green Bay Packers quarterback and Super Bowl MVP Aaron Rodgers.

Credit: Courtesy of ESPN Inc.
Bayne made his mark in NASCAR and the sports world earlier this year when he won the Daytona 500 in only his second Sprint Cup start. At 20 years and one day old, Bayne became the youngest driver in history to win NASCAR's most prestigious race. Bayne's memorable Daytona 500 victory is nominated for Best Moment, up against the Fennville High School basketball team and Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Roy Halladay's post-season no-hitter.

Extreme sports star Travis Pastrana, who will make his NASCAR debut in the Nationwide Series race at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis in July, received a nomination for Best Male Action Sports Athlete.

IndyCar and NASCAR Nationwide Series driver Danica Patrick will appear as an award presenter.

Voting is under way for the 2011 ESPYs through July 9. Fans can vote online at ESPN.com/espys, Facebook.com/ESPN and on ESPN Mobile Web at http://espn.mobi.

The 19th annual ESPYs will be broadcast live on ESPN Wednesday, July 13, at 9 p.m. ET from the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles. Seth Meyers will return for his second year as host.
Jimmie Johnson, Trevor Bayne nominated for ESPYs Jimmie Johnson, Trevor Bayne nominated for ESPYs Reviewed by Rebecca Kivak on Saturday, June 25, 2011 Rating: 5