NSCS: Kurt Busch claims his first win of 2011 at Infineon Raceway

Joey Logano leads the field into the turns of Infineon
Credit: Robert Laberge/Getty Images for NASCAR

Ending the weekend in wine country, Infineon Raceway played host to the Sprint Cup series today. The twists and turns of the track provide a challenge for drivers and crews alike.

Today, one team stood out among the rest as the dominant within the race, the No. 22 Pennzoil Dodge of Kurt Busch. Busch has started the race in 11th but took the lead by lap 13. From then on out – the race was his. Leading for a total of 76 of the 110 laps and during four different periods, it was Busch’s race to lose.

Busch lead the race from the final caution at lap 88 until the checkered flag flew, ending with a 4 second lead over Jeff Gordon and Carl Edwards.

Kurt Busch captures the checkered flag for his first win on 2011
Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR

Race highlights:
  • Joey Logano starts on pole, his first at a road course (He has been getting coaching from Max Papis to prepare for this)
  • Lap 6 – Denny Hamlin passes teammate Logano for the lead
  • Lap 13- Kurt Busch passes Hamlin for the lead
  • Lap 34 – Casey Mears stalls at the entrance of pit road caution was brought out
  • Lap 39 – Multi car incident in turn 11 involved were 1,14,24,29,39,83,88 brining out caution number 2
  • Lap 48 – Debris caution
  • Lap 51- Clint Bowyer takes the lead from Busch but only for a lap
  • Lap 60 – Denny Hamlin goes to the garage with a broken track bar
  • Lap 61 – Bobby Labonte spins in turn 1 for the 4th caution
  • Lap 63- Kenseth and Allmendinger spin – no caution
  • Lap 88 – Kurt Busch takes the lead and the final caution flies for an accident with Stewart and Vickers (intentional, up for debate)
Race results:
  1. Kurt Busch
  2. Jeff Gordon
  3. Carl Edwards
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Marcos Ambrose
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Jimmie Johnson
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Kyle Busch
  12. David Gilliland
  13. AJ Allmendinger
  14. Matt Kenseth
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Regan Smith
  18. Robby Gordon
  19. Mark Martin
  20. Kasey Kahne
  21. Jeff Burton
  22. Juan Pablo Montoya
  23. Greg Biffle
  24. David Reutimann
  25. Ryan Newman
  26. Andy Pilgrim
  27. Andy Cook
  28. Boris Said
  29. David Ragan
  30. Michael McDowell
  31. Dave Blaney
  32. Bobby Labonte
  33. Brian Simo
  34. Casey Mears
  35. Andy Lally
  36. Brian Vickers
  37. Denny Hamlin
  38. Bobby Labonte
  39. Tony Stewart
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  42. Mike Skinner
  43. P.J. Jones
NSCS: Kurt Busch claims his first win of 2011 at Infineon Raceway NSCS: Kurt Busch claims his first win of 2011 at Infineon Raceway Reviewed by Unknown on Sunday, June 26, 2011 Rating: 5