Friday, July 22, 2011

Austin Dillon wins the NCWTS Lucas Deep Clean 200 at Nashville

Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR

Austin Dillon will be rocking some sweet tunes on his way home after claiming the top prize at Nashville, the custom painted Sam Bass Gibson guitar. This was Dillon's third victory in the NCWTS in only 39 races.

After starting on pole, Dillon went onto lead  56 laps, but the race was a hard fought one. Timothy Peters led for a total of 67 laps and was a contender this evening. Trying to spoil it for the two younger drivers was points leader Johnny Sauter. Sauter, Dillon and Peters were the top-3 trucks for the entire race.

The race was uneventful for the most part, only three cautions. Early on Johanna Long spun and brought out a caution at lap 5. A debris caution later followed at lap 103. The final caution of the night came out as Max Papis blew up, catching fire and requiring some clean up for spilled oil.

Race results:

  1. Austin Dillon
  2. Johnny Sauter
  3. Timothy Peters
  4. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  5. Parker Kligerman
  6. Todd Bodine
  7. James Buescher
  8. David Starr
  9. Elliott Sadler
  10. Joey Coulter
  11. Matt Crafton
  12. Jason White
  13. Brendan Gaughan
  14. Miguel Paludo
  15. Justin Lofton
  16. Ricky Carmichael
  17. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  18. Blake Feese
  19. Cole Whitt
  20. B.J. McLeod Jr.
  21. Justin Marks
  22. Josh Richards
  23. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  24. Ryan Sieg
  25. Norm Benning
  26. Johanna Long
  27. Max Papis
  28. Shane Sieg
  29. Brent Raymer
  30. Clay Greenfield
  31. Chris Lafferty
  32. Johnny Chapman
  33. Mike Harmon
  34. Mike Garvey
Next weekend the series heads to Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis. The race is on Friday, July 29 at 7:30 on SPEED.