Trevor Bayne Wins First Nationwide Race

Credit: Debbie Ross for Skirts and Scuffs
Trevor Bayne doesn't seem like the type to wear the black hat, but today he was happy to do so. After out-gunning Carl Edwards on the last restart, Lap 193, he took the checkered flag for his first Nationwide Series win in the 7th Annual O'Reilly Auto Parts Challenge at Texas Motor Speedway. Bayne only led once for four laps, but they were the right laps to lead. Bayne's win in the No. 16 Ford. Drive One Mustang gave Ford the Nationwide Series its first manufacturer's championship in the Nationwide Series since 2002. 

Bayne's win was No. 299 for Jack Roush and Roush Fenway Racing, who are looking to claim No. 300 tomorrow during the AAA Texas 500. 

"We've been through a lot to get here," Bayne said, "We had to pass the best to get here."

The Great American Speedway delivered exciting racing in the final laps as Edwards, who dominated most of the race by leading four times for 157 laps, tried to fend off Bayne, Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer, and Elliott Sadler.

Hamlin, despite the difficulty of driving in someone else's seat, made the most of his last-minute substitution in place of parked driver Kyle Busch by bringing the No. 18 Z-line Designs Toyota home in second place. Edwards had to settle for third at the track where he's been so successful.

Elliot Sadler got loose at the end and faded to 9th. "We gave up some points we shouldn't have," Sadler said after the race. He now sits 17 points back from Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., who finished sixth.

In the media center post-race, Bayne thanked his fans for being loyal to him through the ups and downs he's experienced.
There were 11 lead changes among 7 drivers, and cautions interrupted the 200-lap race only 5 times for a total of 19 laps.
Photo by Lisa Janine Cloud for Skirts and Scuffs

All cars cleared post-race technical inspection and the Nos. 18, 31, 66, 22, and 60 were taken to NASCAR's R & D center for random testing.

The complete finishing order:

1 16 Trevor Bayne
2 20 Denny Hamlin
3 60 Carl Edwards
4 33 Clint Bowyer
5 22 Brad Keselowski
6 6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
7 12 Sam Hornish Jr.
8 20 Joey Logano
9 2 Elliott Sadler
10 32 Brian Vickers
11 7 Danica Patrick
12 11 Brian Scott
13 9 Kenny Wallace
14 31 Justin Allgaier
15 38 Jason Leffler
16 82 Reed Sorenson
17 30 James Buescher
18 66 Steve Wallace
19 88 Aric Almirola
20 62 Michael Annett
21 87 Joe Nemechek
22 81 Blake Koch *
23 19 Mike Bliss
24 14 Eric McClure
25 23 Robert Richardson Jr.
26 51 Jeremy Clements
27 103 Scott Riggs
28 89 Morgan Shepherd
29 39 Joey Gase
30 28 Derrike Cope
31 52 Jamie Dick
32 1 Mike Wallace
33 15 Timmy Hill *
34 70 David Stremme
35 08 David Ragan
36 40 Josh Wise
37 75 Carl Long
38 27 J.J. Yeley
39 46 Chase Miller
40 04 Tim Andrews
41 50 T.J. Bell
42 44 Jeff Green
43 47 Scott Speed
Trevor Bayne Wins First Nationwide Race Trevor Bayne Wins First Nationwide Race Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Saturday, November 05, 2011 Rating: 5