Timothy Peters wins at Iowa, securing points lead

Photo courtesy of Toyota Racing
Timothy Peters went into the American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway the points leader, leaving the race he has a new title: race winner!

Starting on pole, Peters was dominant throughout the race although James Buescher led the most laps. Buescher and Peters swapped the lead multiple times and it was while Buescher was leading that he would suffer a blown tire and hit the wall, handing the lead to Peters once again.

This win is Peters fourth career victory and he is the third pole-sitter to win a trucks race in four events in Iowa. (Note to teams: win pole, win race!)

After taking the lead from Ron Hornaday with just nine laps remaining, the battle heated up as racing went three and four wide. Peters, Hornaday, and ThorSport teammates Johnny Sauter and Matt Crafton all were within reach of the win.

"I was shaking in my pants," Peters said of the restart. "You've got the restart king (Ron Hornaday Jr.) on the outside and I’m just doing my normal deal. After Kentucky, I really went to work thinking about what can I do to better or where can I be better on restarts, because I was just so horrible there. Hornaday got in front of us, but I made sure that I was going to get back by him. Thanks Johnny Sauter -- he gave us a good push. He was going to duck under, but I threw the block on him. Nevertheless, Toyota in victory lane."

On the importance of his win, Peters said, “Well, we were top-five and ‘top-10ing’ them to death. We got a little off our game at Texas and we still finished 11th, so we told the guys afterwards -- I was like, ‘Keep you head up. I’m keeping mine up. If 11th is the worst we finish all year, them boys better look out.’ And we knew a win was around the corner, but oh my goodness -- I’m so glad it came here.”

Of note: Ty Dillon finished in seventh, well on his way to winning the Rookie of the Year award.

Race results:

  1. Timothy Peters
  2. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  3. Matt Crafton
  4. Johnny Sauter
  5. Justin Lofton
  6. Jason Leffler
  7. Ty Dillon
  8. Joey Coulter
  9. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  10. Parker Kligerman
  11. Jeff Choquette
  12. Todd Bodine
  13. Miquel Paludo
  14. Jason White
  15. Tim George Jr.
  16. Ross Chastain
  17. Ryan Sieg
  18. Caleb Holman
  19. Dennis Setzer
  20. John Wes Townley
  21. Jeff Agnew
  22. Bryan Silas
  23. Justin Jennings
  24. Norm Benning
  25. Chris Fontaine
  26. Cale Gale
  27. Dakoda Armstrong
  28. David Starr
  29. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  30. James Buescher
  31. Travis Miller
  32. Todd Shafer
  33. Paulie Harraka
  34. Chris Lafferty
  35. Chris Jones
  36. Brennan Newberry
In the points, Peters win gives him a bit of a boost over second place, Justin Lofton.
  1. Timothy Peters
  2. Justin Lofton (-12)
  3. Ty Dillon (-14)
  4. James Buescher (-40)
  5. Parker Kligerman (-47)
  6. Matt Crafton (-48)
  7. Ron Hornaday Jr. (-57)
  8. Joey Coulter (-61)
  9. Nelson Piquet Jr. (-69)
  10. Miguel Paludo (-91)
Timothy Peters wins at Iowa, securing points lead Timothy Peters wins at Iowa, securing points lead Reviewed by Unknown on Sunday, July 15, 2012 Rating: 5