Saturday, July 14, 2012

Travis Pastrana beats and bangs his way to Global RallyCross win at NHMS

Credit: Lisa Janine Cloud
Skirts and Scuffs
How did Travis Pastrana bounce back from his bad day in the Nationwide race? By beating and banging his way to his first Global RallyCross win. Pastrana drove his No. 199 Red Bull Dodge Dart as if he were at Bristol or Martinsville, but with jumps and turns.

In front of the same crowd that witnessed his crash and early exit from the F.W. Webb 200, Pastrana outbraked Tanner Foust and moved him aside to take the lead on Lap 2 of the six-lap final. Holding off second-place Steven Hubinette and fellow X Games star Brian Deegan, who finished third. Pastrana shook off the season's difficulties and demonstrated the focus that took him to the top of MotoX and four Rally America championships. 

Foust, who qualified fastest and holds the series points lead, finished fourth.

Heat 1 started with Foust, Stephan Verdier, David Binks and Sverre Isachsen. Foust and Binks advanced to the main, Verdier and Isachsen moved to the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ). In Heat 2, Ken Block, Deegan, Dave Mirra, Pat Moro and Andy Scott battled, with Deegan and Mirra advancing. Scott, Block and Moro moved to the LCQ. Heat 3 saw Pastrana beat Hubinette, with Liam Doran, Richard Burton and Bucky Lasek to the LCQ.

The final featured Foust, Deegan, Pastrana, Hubinette, Binks, Mirra, Verdier, Block, Doran, and Scott.

1 Travis Pastrana
2 Samuel Hubinette
3 Brian Deegan
4 Tanner Foust
5 Ken Block
6 Andy Scott
7 Liam Doran
8 David Binks
9 Stephan Verdier
10 Dave Mirra
11 Bucky Lasek
12 Patrick Moro
13 Sverre Isachsen
14 Richard Burton


Post a Comment