Nelson Piquet Jr. finally wins in the Truck Series

Celebrating in style, Nelson Piquet Jr. savors his first NCWTS win.
Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images for NASCAR
Nelson Piquet Jr. has had an outstanding season that many drivers would be happy with, but one thing has been missing: a win. Today that all changed as he took the checkered flag at Michigan International Speedway, even after a mid-race spin looked as if it would spoil his day.

Piquet's victory, his first in 42 races, is only the second Truck Series victory for a driver born outside of the United States. The first foreign-born NCWTS winner was Canadian Ron Fellows, who has two wins in the series. Piquet is the first Brazilian driver to win in a truck. He''s also the tenth different winner in 12 races this season and the fifth first-time winner of the year.

Kurt Busch ran Piquet hard; the two were the class of the field. Busch led a total of three times and for 57 laps. Not bad considering this was his first truck race in 11 years. Driving the No. 18 for brother Kyle, the team roster for the remainder of the season is undecided. I am betting that we will see Kurt back after today.

Jason White and Dakoda Armstrong finished second and third respectively, earning top finishes for both drivers. Parker Kligerman made his debut with Red Horse Racing, finishing in fourth and keeping his name in the title hunt.

Speaking of the points, Timothy Peters and Ty Dillion are now tied for the lead! The top 10 in the NCWTS Championship standings: Peters, Dillon, Buescher, Lofton, Kligerman, Crafton, Coulter, Piquet, Hornaday and White.

VFW 200 race results:

  1. Nelson Piquet Jr.
  2. Jason White
  3. Dakoda Armstrong
  4. Parker Kligerman
  5. James Buescher
  6. Ty Dillon
  7. Joey Coulter
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Miguel Paludo
  11. Johnny Sauter
  12. Justin Lofton
  13. Timothy Peters
  14. Bryan Silas
  15. Ryan Sieg
  16. Matt Crafton
  17. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  18. Ross Chastain
  19. Brennan Newberry
  20. Cale Gale
  21. Tim George Jr.
  22. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  23. Norm Benning
  24. Todd Bodine
  25. John Wes Townley
  26. Johnny Chapman
  27. Brandon Knupp
  28. Mike Harmon
  29. Chris Fontaine
  30. Stephen Leicht
  31. Dennis Setzer
  32. Scott Riggs
  33. Chris Jones
  34. Josh Wise
  35. TJ Bell
Nelson Piquet Jr. finally wins in the Truck Series Nelson Piquet Jr. finally wins in the Truck Series Reviewed by Unknown on Saturday, August 18, 2012 Rating: 5