Johnny Sauter survives to score NCWTS win at Daytona

Johnny Sauter, driver of the #98 Carolina Nut Co./Curb Records Toyota, celebrates in victory lane after
winning the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series NextEra Energy Resources 250 at Daytona on Friday.
Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images
In 2012, Johnny Sauter led heading to the white flag at Daytona but was spun by rookie John King, costing Sauter the win. In 2013 Sauter led heading to the white flag but held on to score his first win at the high-banked track and the seventh of his career, giving Toyota their 100th series victory in the process.

Kyle Busch lamented the finish under caution as he was left with another second-place finish. Behind him were Ron Hornaday Jr., Justin Lofton and Jeb Burton. Burton, son of Daytona 500 winner Ward Burton, was impressive in his debut at the track.

The Truck Series made the first points-paying laps of the 2013 season Friday night in the NextEra Energy Resources 250, and there was no lack of dramatic moments. The first came when Brendan Gaughan tried to slide between rookies Brennan Newberry and Herman Quiroga, ending up wrecking himself and a dozen other trucks. Gaughan admitted that the accident was his fault for putting himself in that precarious position.

Tension ratcheted up through the rest of the race, though for a while it seemed Ty Dillon was in control, leading a career-high 56 laps as part of the total 11 lead changes among six drivers. Four of the six cautions on the night were for accidents. Sauter took point for the final time on Lap 85 and managed to take the white flag before a wreck broke out behind him.

Rookie Darrell "Bubba" Wallace Jr. finished 12th in his debut for Kyle Busch Motorsports.

The top 10 in series points are:

(1) J. Sauter 47; (2) R. Hornaday Jr. 41; (3) J. Lofton 41; (4) T. Dillon 40; (5) J. Burton 39; (6) M. Paludo 37; (7) R. Blaney 36; (8) M. Crafton 35; (9) R. Sieg 34; (10) T. Bodine 34.

Full finishing order:
       1. (98) Johnny Sauter, Toyota
       2. (6) Kyle Busch(i), Toyota  
       3. (4) Ron Hornaday Jr., Chevrolet,  
       4. (2) Justin Lofton, Chevrolet 
       5. (7) Jeb Burton #, Chevrolet,  
       6. (5) Ty Dillon, Chevrolet 
       7. (8) Miguel Paludo, Chevrolet
       8. (11) Ryan Blaney #, Ford  
       9. (17) Matt Crafton, Toyota 
       10. (31) Ryan Sieg, Chevrolet 
       11. (26) Todd Bodine, Toyota 
       12. (14) Darrell Wallace Jr. #, Toyota
       13. (3) James Buescher, Chevrolet
       14. (16) Ross Chastain, Ford 
       15. (33) Chris Cockrum, Toyota 
       16. (24) Tim George Jr., Ford 
       17. (32) Norm Benning, Chevrolet 
       18. (21) John King, Chevrolet 
       19. (13) Dakoda Armstrong, Chevrolet 
       20. (36) Dusty Davis, Chevrolet 
       21. (28) John Wes Townley, Toyota 
       22. (10) Joey Coulter, Toyota 
       23. (30) Jeff Agnew, Chevrolet, Accident 
       24. (12) Max Gresham, Chevrolet, Accident 
       25. (20) German Quiroga #, Toyota
       26. (19) Clay Greenfield, RAM 
       27. (23) Timothy Peters, Toyota 
       28. (9) Ryan Truex #, Chevrolet 
       29. (15) Brendan Gaughan, Chevrolet 
       30. (29) Jason White(i), Chevrolet, Accident 
       31. (34) David Starr, Toyota, Suspension 
       32. (27) Bryan Silas, Ford, Accident 
       33. (1) Brennan Newberry #, Chevrolet, Accident 
       34. (22) Chris Fontaine, Toyota, Accident 
       35. (35) Jennifer Jo Cobb, Chevrolet, Engine 
       36. (18) Scott Riggs, Chevrolet, Engine 
# - Rookie
i  - Ineligible for points

Johnny Sauter survives to score NCWTS win at Daytona Johnny Sauter survives to score NCWTS win at Daytona Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Saturday, February 23, 2013 Rating: 5