NNS Pole Report: Trevor Bayne wins pole for DRIVE4COPD 300

Credit: Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

Trevor Bayne, winner of the 2011 Daytona 500, claimed the pole position for Saturday's DRIVE4COPD 300 Nationwide Series race with a qualifying lap of 177.162 mph. Bayne embarks on a full season of racing in the No. 6 Ford Mustang for Roush Fenway Racing. This is his 6th career pole.

Sam Hornish Jr. will start on the outside pole, making an all-Ford front row following Penske Racing's switch to the Blue Oval.

Rounding out the top 5 are Parker Kligerman, X Games champion turned NASCAR racer Travis Pastrana and Austin Dillon.

Danica Patrick, making history as the first woman to win a Daytona 500 pole, will start Saturday's race in the 12th spot.

The Daytona season opener marks the first race since the Nationwide field was shortened from 43 cars to 40 cars.

The DRIVE4COPD 300 will be broadcast live Saturday at 1:15 p.m. ET on ESPN. Green flag: 1:34 p.m. 

Starting lineup:

1. Trevor Bayne
2. Sam Hornish Jr.
3. Parker Kligerman
4. Travis Pastrana
5. Austin Dillon
6. Elliott Sadler
7. Kyle Busch
8. Alex Bowman
9. Matt Kenseth
10. Tony Stewart
11. Brad Keselowski
12. Danica Patrick
13. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
14. Justin Allgaier
15. Regan Smith
16. Jeff Green
17. Nelson Piquet Jr.
18. Jamie Dick
19. Kasey Kahne
20. Brian Vickers
21. Kyle Larson
22. Michael Annett
23. Mike Wallace
24. Scott Lagasse Jr.
25. Johanna Long
26. Mike Bliss
27. Mike Harmon
28. Eric McClure
29. Brian Scott
30. Robert Richardson Jr.
31. Jeffrey Earnhardt
32. Hal Martin
33. Joe Nemechek
34. Blake Koch
35. Jason White
36. Juan Carlos Blaum
37. Jeremy Clements
38. Danny Efland
39. Reed Sorenson
40. Kurt Busch

Did Not Qualify: Bobby Gerhart, Morgan Shepherd, Dexter Stacey and Joey Gase.
NNS Pole Report: Trevor Bayne wins pole for DRIVE4COPD 300 NNS Pole Report: Trevor Bayne wins pole for DRIVE4COPD 300 Reviewed by Rebecca Kivak on Friday, February 22, 2013 Rating: 5