Friday, March 15, 2013

NSCS Pole Report: Five-time Bristol winner Kyle Busch claims pole

Credit: Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR
Kyle Busch will start on the pole for Sunday's Food City 500 Sprint Cup race at Bristol Motor Speedway, setting a new track record with his qualifying lap of 129.535 mph (14.813 seconds) in Friday's session. The top 30 drivers were separated by just 3/10ths of a second.

This is Busch's first series pole at Bristol - which is hard to believe considering he has five Cup wins at the 0.533-mile short track, including four of the last eight races.

Kasey Kahne will start with Busch on the front row. Rounding out the top 5 are Denny Hamlin, Brian Vickers and Paul Menard.

Rookie of the Year contender Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who qualified 28th, will start from the rear of the field Sunday after his engine blew up during Friday's Sprint Cup practice.

The Food City 500 at Bristol will be broadcast live at 1 p.m. ET Sunday on FOX. Green flag is set for 1:13 p.m.

Starting lineup:

1. Kyle Busch
2. Kasey Kahne
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Brian Vickers
5. Paul Menard
6. Jamie McMurray
7. Brad Keselowski
8. Tony Stewart
9. Martin Truex Jr.
10. Joey Logano
11. Jeff Gordon
12. Matt Kenseth
13. Jimmie Johnson
14. David Gilliland
15. Casey Mears
16. Jeff Burton
17. Juan Pablo Montoya
18. Kevin Harvick
19. Kurt Busch
20. Aric Almirola
21. Carl Edwards
22. Marcos Ambrose
23. Clint Bowyer
24. Greg Biflle
25. David Reutimann
26. David Stremme
27. Scott Speed
28. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
29. AJ Allmendinger
30. David Regan
31. Ryan Newman
32. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
33. Dave Blaney
34. Michael McDowell
35. J.J. Yeley
36. Mike Bliss
37. Travis Kvapil
38. Joe Nemechek
39. Bobby Labonte
40. Josh Wise
41. Danica Patrick
42. Landon Cassill
43. Terry Labonte

Did not qualify:
Scott Riggs


Post a Comment