NNS Pole Report: Alex Bowman wins first career pole at Texas

Rookie Alex Bowman won his first Nationwide Series pole on Friday
at Texas Motor Speedway. Credit: Todd Warshaw/NASCAR via Getty Images
In just his 10th Nationwide Series start, Alex Bowman claimed his first career pole for tonight's  O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway.

The Sunoco Rookie of the Year contender's lap of 183.418 mph (29.441 seconds) knocked former series champion Kyle Busch off the pole position. Bowman, driver of the No. 99 Schooltipline.com Toyota for RAB Racing, is the first Nationwide Series rookie to start on the pole at the 1.5-mile Fort Worth track since David Ragan in 2007.

The remaining top 5 starters are Austin Dillon, points leader Sam Hornish Jr. and Sprint Cup champion Brad Keselowski.

The NNS at Texas: O'Reilly Auto Parts 300 will be broadcast live at 8:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2. Green flag is scheduled for 8:47 p.m. The NNS Countdown starts at 8 p.m.

Starting lineup:

1. Alex Bowman
2. Kyle Busch
3. Austin Dillon
4. Sam Hornish Jr.
5. Brad Keselowski
6. Regan Smith
7. Kevin Harvick
8. Parker Kligerman
9. Matt Kenseth
10. Elliott Sadler
11. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
12. Kyle Larson
13. Brian Vickers
14. Justin Allgaier
15. Trevor Bayne
16. Kasey Kahne
17. Kevin Swindell
18. Mike Bliss
19. Nelson Piquet Jr.
20. Brian Scott
21. Travis Pastrana
22. Jeremy Clements
23. Chris Buescher
24. Johanna Long
25. Reed Sorenson
26. Landon Cassill
27. Joe Nemechek
28. Mike Wallace
29. Jeff Green
30. Dexter Stacey
31. Jamie Dick
32. Hal Martin
33. Josh Wise
34. Kevin Lepage
35. Blake Koch
36. Jeffrey Earnhardt
37. Eric McClure
38. Robert Richardson Jr.   
39. Juan Carlos Blum   
40. JJ Yeley

Did Not Qualify: Scott Riggs, Joey Gase, Chase Miller, Jason White and Michael McDowell.

NNS Pole Report: Alex Bowman wins first career pole at Texas NNS Pole Report: Alex Bowman wins first career pole at Texas Reviewed by Rebecca Kivak on Friday, April 12, 2013 Rating: 5