Saturday, August 10, 2013

Sam Hornish Jr. sets Nationwide track record with pole-winning run at Watkins Glen

Sean Gardner/NASCAR via Getty 
Sam Hornish Jr. was fastest in Nationwide practice and followed that up with a record-setting pole run for the 19th Annual Zippo 200 at The Glen.

The Penske Racing contingent flexed road-course racing muscle with Hornish Jr.'s Coors Light Pole-winning lap of 71.538, Joey Logano's third-place 71.906 lap, and Brad Keselowski's fifth-place 71.906.

JGR's Kyle Busch starts second but said "It's hard to beat these Fords going down the straightaway." Regan Smith fills in the top five with his fourth-place run for JR Motorsports.

The pole is the third of Hornish Jr's NASCAR career and his second of the 2013 season.

Only 40 cars entered the race so no one went home. Here's the full lineup.
1   Sam Hornish, Jr.
2   Kyle Busch
3   Joey Logano
4   Regan Smith
5   Brad Keselowski
6   Justin Allgaier
7   Nelson Piquet, Jr.
8   Brian Vickers
9   Parker Kligerman
10   Brian Scott
11   Elliott Sadler
12   Trevor Bayne
13   Kasey Kahne
14   Austin Dillon
15   Kyle Larson
16   Brendan Gaughan
17   Cole Whitt
18   Michael Annett
19   Alex Bowman
20   Travis Pastrana
21   Andrew Ranger
22   Kyle Kelley
23   Mike Wallace
24   Landon Cassill
25   Mike Bliss
26   Jeremy Clements
27   Reed Sorenson
28   Bryan Silas
29   Jeff Green
30   Eric McClure
31   Josh Wise
32   Kenny Habul
33   Tony Raines
34   T.J. Bell
35   Derek White
36   Blake Koch
37   Carl Long
38   Joey Gase
39   Anthony Gandon
40   Morgan Shepherd

The 2:15 p.m. NNS Zippo 200 at The Glen can be found on ABC. Green flag: 2:35 p.m.


Post a Comment