Ty Dillon's first win at Texas Motor Speedway is 100th for RCR's No. 3

Credit: Debbie Ross/Skirts and Scuffs 
"Yeah, baby, TEXASSSSSS!" Ty Dillon whooped on the radio as he crossed the finish line Friday night.

Dillon says he wants to win races more than anybody and he made a good start on proving that by dominating the WinStar World Casino 350 at Texas Motor Speedway. He led 76 laps in June but lost the lead to Jeb Burton on a late-race restart.

Not this time. Kyle Busch, James Buescher, Justin Lofton and Ryan Blaney each led briefly but none could keep that No. 3 truck behind them for long. Dillon held on tenaciously, leading 130 of 147 laps and refusing to allow this race at this track to get away.

"I've wanted to win here so bad. I wasn't going to lose this race," he said simply.

The win was the 100th for RCR in the No. 3 across the three divisions of NASCAR. In victory lane Dillon said that he wished that Dale Earnhardt were still around to have gotten that landmark, but even the Intimidator would have had a hard time knocking that Charlie 1 Horse off Dillon's head.

"I know Dale is smiling down on us," said Richard Childress, who expressed his satisfaction at his grandson's win.

Dillon said he used all the pent-up frustrations of the entire season, not just those from the issues with Kevin Harvick last week at Martinsville, and took them all out behind the wheel.

Two-time Texas winner Johnny Sauter said that his truck was as fast as the one he last won with and he drove harder than he did before, yet he still couldn't catch Dillon. Perhaps it was because he didn't eat chicken and dumplings this trip, since his grandmother moved back to Minnesota after being a Texas resident for 60 years.

Ron Hornaday Jr. tried as well, but was happy with his third-place result. Brendan Gaughan finished fourth, Lofton and Buescher held on to take fifth and sixth, respectively. Darrell Wallace Jr. was the top-finishing rookie with seventh.

Burton apparently ran out of fuel late in the race, giving the No .3 team some tense moments, but Burton managed to make it to pit road and not bring out a caution.

The potential for conflict between Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch evaporated when the former spun out on Lap 24, and the latter blew an engine on Lap 99. Busch held out as long as he could, hoping to take score enough for the Owner's Championship, but debris on the grille of the No. 51 caused the truck to overheat and eventually expire.

Matt Crafton remains atop the championship standings, leading Buescher by 46 and Dillon by 47.

Position    Driver
1    Ty Dillon
2    Johnny Sauter
3    Ron Hornaday, Jr.
4    Brendan Gaughan
5    Justin Lofton
6    James Buescher
7    Darrell Wallace, Jr.
8    Miguel Paludo
9    John Wes Townley
10    Matt Crafton
11    Ryan Sieg
12    Joey Coulter
13    Brennan Newberry
14    German Quiroga
15    Ryan Blaney
16    Timothy Peters
17    Dakoda Armstrong
18    Max Gresham
19    Justin Jennings
20    Spencer Gallagher
21    Brad Keselowski
22    Scott Riggs
23    David Starr
24    Tyler Young
25    Ryan Lynch
26    Jeb Burton
27    Bryan Silas
28    Kyle Busch
29    Jennifer Jo Cobb
30    Norm Benning
31    Mike Harmon
32    Chris Jones
33    J.J. Yeley
34    Morgan Shepherd
35    Chris Lafferty
Ty Dillon's first win at Texas Motor Speedway is 100th for RCR's No. 3 Ty Dillon's first win at Texas Motor Speedway is 100th for RCR's No. 3 Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Saturday, November 02, 2013 Rating: 5