Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Fast Facts: The 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoff roster

The 16 drivers in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series playoffs
credit: Getty Images/Chris Graythen

And then there were 16.

Meet the 16 drivers who now have a chance to win the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup in this week’s Fast Facts.

  • Kyle Busch – Busch was the regular season champ, earning six wins and 21 top-10 finishes in 26 races.
  • Kevin Harvick – Harvick won seven races and had 22 top-10 finishes, while also collecting 12 stage wins.
  • Martin Truex Jr. – the reigning champ earned four wins and 15 top-10 finishes in the 2018 regular season.
  • Brad Keselowski – Keselowski became a two-time winner late in the season with wins at Darlington and Indianapolis.
  • Clint Bowyer – Bowyer hadn’t won a Cup race since 2012, but picked up two this season at Martinsville and Michigan (June).
  • Joey Logano – Logano grabbed his only win of the season at Talladega.
  • Kurt Busch – Busch picked up his win this season at Bristol.
  • Chase Elliott – Elliott finally broke through to the winner’s circle at Watkins Glen this season.
  • Ryan Blaney – Blaney earned 12 top-10 finishes and led 586 laps this season.
  • Erik Jones – Jones earned the first win of his Cup career in July at Daytona.
  • Austin Dillon – Dillon earned his win at the season-opener at Daytona.
  • Kyle Larson – Larson failed to win this season in spite of leading the fourth-most laps for the season (666).
  • Denny Hamlin – Hamlin had 14 top-10 finishes in 2018.
  • Aric Almirola –Almirola joins teammates Harvick, Bowyer and Kurt Busch in the playoffs, the first time Stewart-Haas Racing placed all four cars in the playoffs.
  • Jimmie Johnson – Johnson will continue his quest to become “eight-time” in 2018.
  • Alex Bowman – Bowman makes his first playoffs in his first full-time season in the No. 88.


Post a Comment