Trackin' Trucks: Brett Moffitt Wins at Kansas

Credit: Debbie Ross for Skirts and Scuffs

Brett Moffitt earned his first win of the 2020 season on Saturday during the Clean Harbors 200 at Kansas Speedway. 

Moffitt held off Sheldon Creed in overtime by 0.111 seconds for the victory, earning him an automatic ticket to the Championship 4 in Phoenix. 

Austin Hill followed in third, Grant Enfinger finished fourth, and Chandler Smith rounded out the top five.
Christian Eckes finished sixth, Timothy Peters came home seventh in his first series start since October of 2019. Matt Crafton, Derek Kraus, and Trevor Bayne took the checkered flag in eighth through 10th, respectively.

The event went into overtime after a caution flew with three laps to go for Zane Smith. Smith was leading when he spun battling with teammate Moffitt. Smith finished in the 11th position. 

A multi-truck crash occurred on Lap 39, collecting the No. 4 Toyota of Raphael Lessard, Playoff driver Tyler Ankrum, and David Gravel, among others. The crash ended Ankrum’s day and placed him 52 points behind the cutoff line. 

19-year-old Hailie Deegan finished in the 16th position, one lap down, in her series debut. News broke from Ford Performance during the race that she will be driving a truck full-time for DGR-Crosley in 2021. 

A Look Ahead 

The Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series heads to Texas Motor Speedway on Sunday, October 25th. 

Enfinger, Crafton, Ben Rhodes, and Ankrum are the bottom four ahead of the 1.5-mile track. 

Can one of them earn a victory and secure his place to continue his chase for the championship? Only two races remain before the Final 4 is set. 

Don’t miss the 400 on Sunday, October 25th at 12 p.m/ET on Fox Sports 1. 

Trackin' Trucks: Brett Moffitt Wins at Kansas Trackin' Trucks: Brett Moffitt Wins at Kansas Reviewed by Courtney Horn on Saturday, October 17, 2020 Rating: 5