Jeb Burton scores pole and new track record at Michigan

Credit: Justin Edmonds/NASCAR via Getty Images
With a qualifying speed of 185.759 mph, Jeb Burton set a Camping World Truck Series track record Saturday morning at at Michigan International Speedway. The fourth-fastest pole-winning lap in Truck Series history gave Burton the fourth pole of his brief career and shattered the previous record lap of 184.101 set by Joey Coulter last August.

Though Burton's won three other poles this season, it's the first time he's won the Keystone Light Pole award. Burton just turned 21 on August 6th, so he's no longer limited to the 21 means 21 award.

Veteran Brendan Gaughan, whose lap of 184.120 also beat Coulter's record, sits on the outside pole, with defending Truck Series champ James Buescher starting third. Max Gresham earned the best starting position of his career with his fourth-place lap, and Ty Dillon rolls off the grid fifth.

Coverage of the Michigan National Guard 200 at Michigan starts at 12:30 p.m. on the first day of broadcasting for Fox Sports 1. Green flag is at 12:49 p.m. For the rest of the weekend's TV schedule, check here.

Complete starting order:
 1. Jeb Burton
 2. Brendan Gaughan
 3. James Buescher
 4. Max Gresham
 5. Ty Dillon
 6. Matt Crafton
 7. Kyle Busch
 8. Miguel Paludo
 9. Joey Coulter
10. Ron Hornaday Jr
11. Johnny Sauter
12. Timothy Peters
13. Dakoda Armstrong
14. Brett Moffitt
15. Darrell Wallace Jr
16. German Quiroga Jr
17. John Wes Townley
18. Brennan Newberry
19. Ryan Blaney
20. Joey Logano
21. Bryan Silas
22. Ryan Sieg
23. J.J. Yeley
24. Jake Crum
25. Mike Harmon
26. Danny Efland
27. Chris Jones
28. Scott Riggs
29. Jennifer Jo Cobb
30. Chris Lafferty
31. Norm Benning
32. Todd Peck


Jeb Burton scores pole and new track record at Michigan Jeb Burton scores pole and new track record at Michigan Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Saturday, August 17, 2013 Rating: 5