McDriver on the Nationwide pole at Mid-Ohio

Michael McDowell at TMS in 2012
Credit: Debbie Ross/Skirts and Scuffs
Michael McDowell chose to drive in the Nationwide Series race at Mid-Ohio today in hopes of earning a trophy instead of earning points in the Cup series. He's off to a good start with the pole at the Lexington, Ohio road course.

Fresh off his first NNS win, AJ Almendinger starts second, with road-course specialist Owen Kelly third and Kyle Larson fourth.

Jason Bowles qualified the No. 3 for Austin Dillon, who's rushing in from Michigan where he's filling in behind the wheel of the No. 14 for Tony Stewart. Although Bowles earned the 13th spot, Dillon will start from the back of the field.

ESPN's coverage of the Nationwide Children's Hospital 200 starts at 2:30 p.m. ET, with the green flag flying 2:50 p.m.

Here's your lineup:

  1. Michael McDowell
  2. AJ Allmendinger
  3. Owen Kelly
  4. Kyle Larson
  5. Nelson Piquet, Jr.
  6. Regan Smith
  7. Brian Vickers
  8. Sam Hornish, Jr.
  9. Parker Kligerman
10. Max Papis
11. Ron Fellows
12. Brian Scott
13. Austin Dillon
14. Elliott Sadler
15. Justin Allgaier
16. Andrew Ranger
17. Alex Bowman
18. Travis Pastrana
19. Ryan Truex
20. Chris Buescher
21. Michael Annett
22. Alex Kennedy
23. Jeremy Clements
24. Jeff Green
25. Stanton Barrett
26. Reed Sorenson
27. Kyle Kelley
28. Chad Hackenbracht
29. Kenny Habul
30. Mike Bliss
31. Alx Danielsson
32. Mike Wallace
33. Ryan Ellis
34. Anthony Gandon
35. Chase Miller
36. Kevin O'Connell
37. Jeffrey Earnhardt
38.  Blake Koch
39. T.J. Bell
40. Tomy Drissi
41 Kevin Lepage
42. Dexter Stacey
43.Tim Cowen

McDriver on the Nationwide pole at Mid-Ohio McDriver on the Nationwide pole at Mid-Ohio Reviewed by Janine Cloud on Saturday, August 17, 2013 Rating: 5